Aaron Judge named 2023 Hank Aaron Award finalist

Derek Jeter, David Ortiz and Albert Pujols join the illustrious voting panel
Aaron Judge has been named a finalist for the prestigious Hank Aaron Award.|Art or Photo Credit: AP

Major League Baseball announced finalists for the 2023 Hank Aaron Award, an honor that recognizes the most outstanding regular season offensive performer in each League.

A committee of MLB.com journalists reviewed the top offensive statistics, accomplishments and performances of the regular season to determine the nine finalists for each league.

This year, three MLB legends and past recipients of the prestigious award join the renowned panel that will elect the winners going forward. Hall of Famers Derek Jeter (2006 & 2009 recipient) and David Ortiz (2005 & 2016 recipient) along with three-time National League MVP Albert Pujols (2003 & 2009 recipient) will each cast votes beginning this year. They join the distinguished panel of Hall of Fame players assembled to cast their ballot that includes Ken Griffey Jr., Chipper Jones, Pedro Martínez, John Smoltz, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.

Fans also have the opportunity to cast their vote on who should receive this distinguished award by voting from the list of finalists in both the American League and National League through MLB.com/aaron. The voting window begins today and run through Friday, Oct. 13.

Former Hank Aaron Award winners Aaron Judge (2022) and Freddie Freeman (2020) are among this year’s finalists.

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Aaron Judge and Paul Goldschmidt (2022); Vladmir Guerrero Jr. and Bryce Harper (2021); José Abreu and Freddie Freeman (2020); Mike Trout and Christian Yelich (2019); J.D. Martinez and Christian Yelich (2018); Giancarlo Stanton and Jose Altuve (2017); Kris Bryant and David Ortiz (2016); Josh Donaldson and Bryce Harper (2015); Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013); Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012); José Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); José Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Derek Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Alex Rodriguez and Albert Pujols (2003); Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.