10 Years of YES: Tale of the tape

02/22/2012 11:54 AM ET
By staff

Jennifer Aniston won the Emmy for Lead Actress in a
Comedy Series in 2002. Today, that honor is held by
Melissa McCarthy. (AP)
When the YES Network hit the airwaves in 2002, Barry Zito was the reigning A.L. Cy Young, Friends was the No. 1 show on TV, and Nicole Kidman was People Magazine's Most Beautiful Person. Compare then (2002) to now (2011/2012) here.


Top Song on the Billboard Charts for March
Then: Ain't It Funny, Jennifer Lopez w/ Ja Rule
Now: Stronger (What Doesn't Kill You), Kelly Clarkson

Grammy for Song of the Year
Then: Fallin', Alicia Keys
Now: Rolling in the Deep, Adele

Grammy for Record of the Year
Then: Walk On, U2
Now: Rolling in the Deep, Adele

Grammy for Best New Artist
Then: Alicia Keys
Now: Bon Iver

American Idol Winner
Then: Kelly Clarkson, (season 1)
Now: Scotty McCreery, (season 10)


Highest Rated Show of the Year
Then: Friends
Now: American Idol

Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series
Then: Friends
Now: Modern Family

Emmy for Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Then: Ray Romano, Everybody Loves Raymond
Now: Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory

Emmy for Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Then: Jennifer Aniston, Friends
Now: Melissa McCarthy, Mike & Molly

Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series
Then: The West Wing
Now: Mad Men

Emmy for Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Then: Michael Chiklis, The Shield
Now: Kyle Chandler, Friday Night Lights

Emmy for Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Then: Allison Janney, The West Wing
Now: Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife


Forbes Richest Person in the World
Then: Bill Gates
Now: Carlos Slim Helu

Time Magazine Person of the Year
Then: The whistleblowers
Now: The protester

People Magazine Sexiest Man
Then: Ben Affleck
Now: Bradley Cooper

People Magazine Most Beautiful Person
Then: Nicole Kidman
Now: Jennifer Lopez


World Series Champions
Then: Anaheim Angels
Now: St. Louis Cardinals

Then: Miguel Tejada
Now: Justin Verlander

Then: Barry Bonds
Now: Ryan Braun

A.L. Rookie of the Year
Then: Eric Hinske
Now: Jeremy Hellickson

N.L. Rookie of the Year
Then: Jason Jennings
Now: Craig Kimbrel

A.L. Cy Young
Then: Barry Zito
Now: Justin Verlander

N.L. Cy Young
Then: Randy Johnson
Now: Clayton Kershaw


Then: Joe Torre
Now: Joe Girardi

Bench Coach
Then: Don Zimmer
Now: Tony Pena

Hitting Coach
Then: Rick Down
Now: Kevin Long

Pitching Coach
Then: Mel Stottlemyre
Now: Larry Rothschild

First Base Coach
Then: Lee Mazzilli
Now: Mick Kelleher

Third Base Coach
Then: Willie Randolph
Now: Rob Thomson

Batting Average Leader
Then: Bernie Williams, .333
Now: Robinson Cano, .302

Home Run Leader
Then: Jason Giambi, 41
Now: Curtis Granderson, 41

RBI Leader
Then: Jason Giambi, 122
Now: Curtis Granderson, 119

OBP Leader
Then: Jason Giambi, .435
Now: Nick Swisher, .374

Hits Leader
Then: Alfonso Soriano, 209
Now: Robinson Cano, 188

Stolen Base Leader
Then: Alfonso Soriano, 41
Now: Brett Gardner, 49

Strikeout Leader
Then: Roger Clemens, 192
Now: CC Sabathia, 230

Saves Leader
Then: Mariano Rivera, 28
Now: Mariano Rivera, 44


Average National Gas Price
Then: $1.15/gallon (as of January 2002)
Now: $3.44/gallon (as of January 2012) comments